the Omega-Theory

 The Omega-Theory

the Omega-Theory

Chapter 1: Numerous observations by seismologists all over the world show that two types of earthquake sequences exist: (1) periodic and (2) geometric.

Chapter 2: These observations can be explained within the Framework of the Cosserat continuum theory. Deformation of the faulted rocks in the Earth’s crust can be described by translational and rotational movements. Blocks of rocks bounded by fault planes can slide one along another, but they can also rotate. The size of the rotating blocks defines the Cosserat characteristic length of the crust. The basic Cosserat measures are stress, couple-stress, strain, and torsioncurvature tensors.

Chapter 3: The net result of a large number of distributed slip events on faults in the Earth’s crust is a quasicontinuous deformation referred to as the cataclastic flow or the fault strain.

Chapter 4: Classically, faults become seismically reactivated when the shear stress exceeds the frictional resistance for sliding. In the Cosserat continuum, faults can also become reactivated due to the couple-stresses and decreasingCosserat characteristic lengths.

Chapter 5: Rocks in the Earth’s crust are cut by numerous parallel or subparallel sets of faults that form fault systems. Some faults intersect each other. When slip occurs along the intersection line, we speak of intersecting-fault interaction or wedge faulting.

Chapter 6: Rotation of blocks also causes interaction between parallel or subparallel faults. This is parallel-fault interaction. Together with the intersecting-fault interaction, the parallel-fault interaction leads to the parallel-wedge interaction.

No comments
Post a Comment

    Reading Mode :
    Font Size
    lines height